2012 highlights include drought, redistricting, elections

Everyone at the Fayette newspapers says “Happy New Year to all!”

We appreciate all the support from our advertisers and subscribers and we look forward to serving you in 2013.

In the Jan. 5 Democrat-Leader we will publish our Year in Review edition featuring highlights of local news and sports. An important part of the Year in Review is a listing of local businesses, the year in which they began their business and a description of what they offer. If you want your business to be included in the business listing, call our office at 248-2235 or email advertising@fayettenews.com. The cost is only $20.

Here is a sample of what occurred in the last year in Howard County:

2012 will go down in history as the warmest year on record in central Missouri. Fayette recorded a record high temperature of 71 degrees on Jan. 16.  On April 2 the high temperature reached 99 degrees, another record high temperature for the day. July and August saw 15 days of over-100 degree temperatures. We encountered 27 straight days of high temperatures above 90 degrees during the month of July, another record. The record drought of the summer will be remembered for a long time. From May through August, Howard County received less than 1 inch of rain.

Two Fayette High School graduating seniors made the news: Nazow Tarakai was accepted to Harvard University and Bruce Marshall accepted a Division I basketball scholarship to Missouri State. The Harrisburg girls basketball team won state for the second year in a row. The Glasgow boys finished third at the state tournament.

2012 also was an election year locally and nationally. Kenneth O’Brian won a three-way race for the mayor in the April municipal elections. Mike Neal won the Howard County Sheriff’s job defeating longtime incumbent Sheriff Charlie Polson by 37 votes.

Following a redrawing of legislative districts at both the state and national level, Howard County is no longer part of Congressional District 6, represented by Congressman Sam Graves, but is now part of Congressional District 4 represented by Vicky Hartzler.

The new 21st state senate district, represented by David Pearce, is now comprised of Caldwell, Lafayette, Johnson, Howard, Ray, Carroll, Saline, and Livingston Counties.

The county is represented by two state legislative districts: 47 and 48.

The newly-formed 47th district, represented by John Wright, includes the eastern third of Howard County; parts of Randolph, Cooper and Boone Counties; the cities of Rocheport, Higbee, Renick and parts of Columbia.

The newly-formed 48th district, represented by Dave Muntzel, includes parts of Cooper, Howard, Randolph, Chariton, Pettis and Saline Counties and includes the communities of Boonville, Fayette, Sedalia, Brunswick, Glasgow, Slater and New Franklin.

Howard County had its share of unique animals reported to our newspaper. These included a rare moth, a rattlesnake and a wolf. These are just a few of the news items that happened in 2012.  We hope you enjoy the 2012 Year in Review edition January 5, 2013.

Pat Roll

Leave a Comment