New Franklin School Board Appointments and building updates

Position appointments and new building updates were the primary focus of the New Franklin School Board meeting, Wednesday, July 19.
The board appointed the following personnel to these positions;
Beverly Parr –
Secretary of the Board
Custodian of Records
Local Agency Security Officer
David Haggard –
Title IX Coordinator
Migrant Child Coordinator
Amy Chitwood –
ADA/Section 504 Coordinator
Foster Child Care Coordinator
Wayne Schlotzhauer –
Asbestos Program Manager
Dawn Shipp –
Authorized LEA Representative
ELL Coordinator
Erika Soder –
Homeless Coordinator.
These positions are the same as for the 2016-17 school year.  The board is pleased with the performance of these individuals in their respective positions and saw no reason to change.
Out-of-district tuition rates were discussed.  Rates are set annually based on the State of Missouri’s Adequacy Target for student expenditures.  The board chose to maintain the tuition rate of $6,000 from last year for the 2017-18 school year.
Work continues on the new addition to the school.  Several storage closets have been added to various locations and are filled almost as quickly as built.  Wire has been run; doors are in, with glass to follow; the concrete floor is stained; fire alarms are installed; plumbers are almost finished with the restrooms.  The wood floor has been delayed, but should not delay the projected completion.
Parking lot excavation has been started and the house demolition on the newly purchased property should begin early next week.  Bids have been advertised for asphalting.
The office is continuing to prepare for the July 28 audit.

Leave a Comment