School Board and Municipal Candidate Forums scheduled

Fayette R-III School District patrons will soon have an opportunity to hear the views of the candidates for the Fayette School Board. The Association of Women for Education (AWE) will sponsor a school board candidate forum on Tuesday, March 20, at the Fayette High School media center. The event will begin at 7 p.m. and is open to the public.
Election of school board members will be held on Tuesday, April 3. The four candidates vying for two seats on the board are Joey Busker, Matt Hudson, John Stroupe and incumbent Jean Schmidt. At the forum, each candidate will give a prepared opening statement before answering four general questions presented by a moderator, after which there will be a 15-minute question/answer period open to audience participation. Each candidate will have an opportunity to give a brief closing statement. Jim Steele will serve as moderator.
AWE is a local organization which supports education through annual projects such as Books for Daly Kids (with cooperation of the Fayette Optimist Club), a middle school scholastic award, math/science/technology awards for deserving high school students as well as the Sarah Royall Scholarship given to a graduating senior.
Later the same week, Thursday, March 22, the Fayette Armstrong Community Betterment Group will be hosting a municipal candidate forum.
Municipal elections will be on the same ballot as the school board elections on Tuesday, April 3. There are currently five open positions and two of them are contested. As of Monday, March 5, there are four candidates for Mayor; Kenneth O’Brian (incumbant), Greg Stidham (current alderman), Brian Cummiskey and Chris Boyler; and two candidates for Southwest Ward Alderman; Paden Squires and Hope Smith.
Only one candidate each filed for City Marshal, East Ward Alderman, and Northwest Ward Alderman. Jeff Oswald is seeking re-election for City Marshal, Anthony Shiflett is running for East Ward Alderman, and Marcus Wells filed for Northwest Ward Alderman.
The community is encouraged to attend both forums to hear the candidates share their positions.

Leave a Comment