Harrisburg, New Franklin and Higbee sending athletes to sectional meet

The boys and girls track and field teams for Harrisburg, Higbee and New Franklin all traveled to La Plata, Missouri, for the Class 1 District 2 Championships on May 5.
The day was unofficially recognized as Cinco de Mayo, which is pointlessly celebrated by people in the United States, but athletes from all three schools certainly had valid reasons to celebrate. All three schools had athletes qualify for the sectional championships.
Harrisburg had 19 athletes qualify for sectionals; eight boys and 11 girls.
On the boys side, junior Aaron Sims placed third in the 100 (12.12). He also qualified in the 400, posting a new personal best (56.50) to finish in third place. Cade Combs set a new season best in the 200 (24.62), and finished in fourth place. He placed second in the high jump (05-11).
The Harrisburg boys 4×100 – Combs, Sims, Cody Karl and Brayden Hudson – finished in first place (46.58). The 4×200 team – Hudson, Combs, Karl and Addison Furlong – finished in second (1:40.66).
Furlong placed fourth in the long jump (18-07). Karl set a new season best, placing fourth in the triple jump (37-06.5).
On the girls side, Kate Weil qualified in three distance events. She set personal bests in both the 800 (2:40.27) and the 3200 (14:45.77). She finished in third place and in second, respectively. Weil also qualified for the 1600, finishing third (6:12.25).
Alee Thornhill set a season best in the 400 (1:08.69), finishing in third place. Madelaine Gillman qualified in both hurdles events. She finished third (17.23) in the 100-meter hurdles, and set a new personal record. She added a personal record (49.07) in the 300-meter hurdles, winning the event.
The Harrisburg girls 4×100 team placed fourth. The 4×400 relay team finished in second place. The 4×800 relay team – Weil, Thornhill, Zoe Carr and Kyleigh Weil – won their event.
Rachel Strawn won the pole vault (09-02) and set a new personal best.
New Franklin saw five girls and seven boys qualify for sectionals. On the girls side, the relay team comprised of Jordan Leighton, Nicole Blumer, Davi Smth and Mallori Burnett, qualified for two different events.
The 4×100 relay team finished in third place (56.40). The 4×200 relay team finished in fourth place (1:58.45).
Smith won the high jump (05-11). Madison Matney took second place in both the shot put (34-11.5), and the discus (101-01).
On the boys side, Tyler Perkins won the 800 (2:13.56). Sam Ridgeway and Hayden Wiseman both qualified for the 3200, finishing in second and third place, respectively.
Asa Fischer placed fourth in the 1600 (5:31.11). The boys 4×400 relay team – Perkins, David Brucks, Kolby Anson and Luke Paddock – finished in fourth place. The 4×800 team, Perkins, Brucks, Fischer and Paddock, finished in third place.
For Higbee, the 4×400 relay team – James Gibson, James Cook, Seth Kirby and Brett Nauerth – finished in third place.
Jason Hudson placed third in the javelin (142-00), and fourth in the discus (116-11). He set a new season best. John Schell placed fourth in the shot put (42-06.25).
On the girls side, the 4×200 relay team – Devin Clark, Lexi Boyd, Shelby Garven and Grace Westfall – finished in third place.
The sectional chamionships will be held at Oakville High School in St. Louis on May 12.

Leave a Comment